transitionu

Life Coaching, Observations, Reflections, Things that make you go hmmmmm

This, That and another flippin’ thing or six!

This, That and another flippin’ thing or six!

Lots on this thing I call a mind and them hamsters is burning up the wheel.

I’ve been doing a goodly amount of reading around here and some of my own writing. October and November are the toughest months for me. I’m S.A.D., not sad, S.A.D., Seasonal Affective Disorder.

As I noted I’ve been doing more reading than writing. I’ve had stuff in the bank because I knew I’d be hitting a small wall that is overcome with time to adjust. Happens every year and while highly disconcerting not debilitating!

In the interest of order. Well order as I define it, some commentary that pleases me.

Thanks Giving
American Turkey Day and tomorrow or later today at the stores, Seasons Beatings To All!

Turkey day came and went about 6 weeks ago for Canada.

Now the timing of ours and theirs just sucks. I’d like to see both countries have Thanks Giving on the same day between Labour Day and Christmas. Both countries have a very special day right in there anyway and giving thanks on those two special days makes sense to me.

November 11th is Remembrance Day here in Canada and Veterans Day for our American friends. Seems like a damn good day to be giving thanks as well! I also happen to think that When July 1, Dominion Day in Canada is a Friday and July 4 is Monday there should be a giant cross border celebration but that is a story for a different day.

The worst thing about today was having to do math. Gotta make those NFL choices and to do that you gotta crunch the numbers. Crunch, crunch, crunch, hmmmmmmm.

S.A.D.
It isn’t pleasant. My coping skills are excellent and knowing what it is that has me discombobulated doesn’t change the fact my hamsters aren’t running at optimal. Use the search function here for, “Contemfutzing” for more about the hamsters.

I related that October and November are the worst for me. Early in the season, it is fall, rainy and damp without a lot of sunlight. For me it has to be the natural light that helps my mindset and disposition. There was some sun yesterday so I took 15 minutes at lunch just to stand in the sunshine. Shame I can’t bank that stuff like I can the writing.

Yup, I save for a rainy day. Hell I save for rainy months!

What else can you bank when the season rolls around is understanding. I know what S.A.D., is. I know what S.A.D., does. I don’t always do well with it but I usually manage to catch myself and take that step back before blowing out some other person’s hamster. I should be more patient and understanding of the less fortunate. It has to be difficult working with just one hamster on a squeaky wheel!

In all seriousness for those that suffer and we do suffer, if you can find a way to build yourself a mechanism that flashes a realization warning light, you’ll cope with it much easier and be happier.

Writing
These two months are tough. I have to focus differently and harder. My patience is thin and frustration can set in quickly.

I’ve 4 poems in the works and I have ideas for more. I go back and forth on a couple at the same time. I find this direction deflection works for me. I don’t allow myself to get hung up in one and make myself nuttier cuz the ship won’t fly. Yes you can substitute another word for ship.

Been flushing out a couple pieces that will fall in to the Coaching and Thoughts categories.

While I’ve been quieter with posting, I’ve been busier with composing and composure.

Another four weeks and the days start getting longer again and then it will soon be spring!

G.R. Hambley

PS … I didn’t say anything about that “W” word on purpose!

3 responses to “This, That and another flippin’ thing or six!

  1. Garfield Hug November 27, 2014 at 9:43 pm

    LOL!! Glad you are having hamsters running your wheel in the brain department too! Darn cute these little rodents are 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  2. parispoems December 2, 2014 at 9:28 pm

    I totally get SAD, my husband has that too, I’m glad you had that sunshine, and I wish that we good bank it! That and happiness, for when we are feeling blue. Peace to you Gary.
    Xx Paris

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

