transitionu

Life Coaching, Observations, Reflections, Things that make you go hmmmmm

December 21st, the 2nd best day of the year!

December 21st, the 2nd best day of the year!

Here in the northern hemisphere it is the winter solstice. For me the second best day of the year.

I’ve noted in a couple posts that I am S.A.D., seasonal affective disorder. The winter solstice is one of my coping mechanisms. I’ve been counting down the days until the days get longer since December 1st.

October and November are especially difficult as the days keep getting shorter and the fall weather is generally rainy, damp and dreary. This year was more so than the norm. No I haven’t checked the stats to confirm and I don’t need to! I know it and others have commented on it too. Yes I’m cranky!

I’m not sick. I have an affliction. There are so many ways an individual can find to cope or escape from the things that affect the mind. For me it’s looking to the bright side, going to the light figuratively and literally.

Yesterday we had a nice day around 2 Celsius with sun! I picked me a nice corner by the market and soaked up sun for about 30 minutes. I watched the people pass, packages and good eats in hand. It sure felt good and made me smile!

Soon it’ll be spring! I usually really feel the difference about mid February. Until then I’ll just keep smiling and heading for light where I see it.

We each have to find our own ways to cope. Given you a small look at one of mine and maybe there is something in it you can use.

Suns back out this morning, gonna go grab me some, y’all enjoy your day!

Almost forgot, the best and worst day of the year? Why the summer solstice and I’m sure you can figure out why!

G.R. Hambley
certified professional coach

Leave a Reply

